No.24 Touching Sand in a Bunker
 

 

 
Question 1:
Before making a stroke at his ball that lies in a bunker the player accidentally brushes the sand with his clubhead as he carefully lifts a rake from the same bunker. Does he incur a penalty?
 
Answer 1:
No. The rake is a movable obstruction. Exception 1 to Rule 13-4.
__________
 
 
Question 2:
Is a player penalised for leaning on his club in a bunker while he waits for his turn to play his ball in that bunker?
 
Answer 2:
Yes. Decision 13-4/2.
 
Note: A player is not permitted to ground his club in a hazard. The Exceptions to Rule 13-4 do not apply.
__________

 
 

 
 
Question 3:
Is it permitted for a player to take clubs into a bunker and lay them down while he makes his stroke from that bunker.
Answer 3:
Yes. Decision 13-4/0.5.
Exception 1 to Rule 13-4 states;
Provided nothing is done that constitutes testing the condition of the hazard or improves the lie of the ball, there is no penalty if the player (a) touches the ground or loose impediments in any hazard or water in a water hazard as a result of or to prevent falling, in removing an obstruction, in measuring or in marking the position of, retrieving, lifting, placing or replacing a ball under any Rule, or (b) places his clubs in a hazard.
 
Another 'Rhodes Rules School' Q&A will follow next week,

 
Good golfing,
 
The above content is strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes 2011/12 and may not be copied without permission.