In stroke play, a player's
four-ball partner uses the flagstick to point out the line of putt.
Which of the following statements are correct?
a) There is no penalty
whether or not the flagstick touches the green on the estimated line of
b) There is no penalty if
the flagstick does not touch the green on the estimated line of putt.
c) The player incurs a two
stroke penalty whether or not the flagstick touches the green on the
estimated line of putt.
d) The player incurs a two
stroke penalty if the flagstick touches the green on the estimated line
b) and d).
player's ball is on the putting green, the player, his partner
or either of their caddies may, before but not during the
stroke, point out a line for putting, but in so doing the
putting green must not be touched. A mark must not be placed
anywhere to indicate a line for putting. Penalty for Breach of
Rule: Match play - Loss of hole; Stroke play - Two strokes.
In stroke play, in pointing out the line
of putt a player's four-ball partner touches the putting green
behind the hole with the flagstick. Does the player incur any
Note: Even though the line of putt does
not extend beyond the hole Rule 8-2b prohibits the putting green
being touched to point out a line of putt when the player's ball
lies on the putting green. There is no penalty if the player's
ball lies off the putting green.
'Rhodes Rules School'
Q&A will follow next week,