No.27 Touching Line of Putt
 

 
 
Question 1:
In stroke play, a player's four-ball partner uses the flagstick to point out the line of putt. Which of the following statements are correct?
a) There is no penalty whether or not the flagstick touches the green on the estimated line of putt.
b) There is no penalty if the flagstick does not touch the green on the estimated line of putt.
c) The player incurs a two stroke penalty whether or not the flagstick touches the green on the estimated line of putt.
d) The player incurs a two stroke penalty if the flagstick touches the green on the estimated line of putt.
 
Answer:
b) and d).
 
Rule 8-2b.
When the player's ball is on the putting green, the player, his partner or either of their caddies may, before but not during the stroke, point out a line for putting, but in so doing the putting green must not be touched. A mark must not be placed anywhere to indicate a line for putting. Penalty for Breach of Rule: Match play - Loss of hole; Stroke play - Two strokes.
__________
 
 
 

 
Question 2:
In stroke play, in pointing out the line of putt a player's four-ball partner touches the putting green behind the hole with the flagstick. Does the player incur any penalty?
Answer 2:
Yes.
 
Note: Even though the line of putt does not extend beyond the hole Rule 8-2b prohibits the putting green being touched to point out a line of putt when the player's ball lies on the putting green. There is no penalty if the player's ball lies off the putting green.
 
 
Another 'Rhodes Rules School' Q&A will follow next week,

 
Good golfing,
 
The above content is strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes 2011/12 and may not be copied without permission.