No.33 Player Hits Their Own Equipment
 

 
 
Question 1:
In stroke play, a player shanks her ball and it hits her trolley. What is the ruling?
a) She incurs no penalty and must play the ball from where it comes to rest.
b) She incurs no penalty and may choose to play her stroke again.
c) She incurs a penalty of one stroke and must play the ball from where it comes to rest.
d) She incurs a penalty of one stroke and may choose to play her stroke again.
e) She incurs a penalty of two strokes and must play the ball from where it comes to rest.
f) She incurs a penalty of two strokes and may choose to play her stroke again.

Answer 1:
c) She incurs a penalty of one stroke and must play the ball from where it comes to rest.

Part of Rule 19-2 states;
 
If a player's ball is accidentally deflected or stopped by himself, his partner or either of their caddies or equipment, the player incurs a penalty of one stroke. The ball must be played as it lies, except when it comes to rest in or on the player's, his partner's or either of their caddies' clothes or equipment.....
Note that this penalty was reduced, from two strokes in stroke play and loss of hole in match play, to one stroke from 1st January 2008.

 

__________
 
 


 
Question 2:
In stroke play, a player accidentally hits the wheel of her bag trolley with her club whilst making a stroke. What is the ruling?
a) There is no penalty.
b) There is a penalty of one stroke.
c) There is a penalty of two strokes.

Answer 2:
a) There is no penalty.

Note: The player was obviously entitled to move her equipment before making her stroke as with any other movable obstruction. However, there is nothing in the Rules that penalises a player from hitting their equipment during a stroke.
 

 
Another 'Rhodes Rules School' Q&A will follow next week,
 
Good golfing,
 
The above content is strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes 2011/12 and may not be copied without permission