A player's ball lies off
the putting green.
a) Is he permitted to have
the flagstick attended?
b) What is the penalty in
stroke play for a ball striking an attended flagstick?
c) If a ball hits the
flagstick, while the person attending it is looking in another
direction, who is penalised?
a) Yes (see below).
b) Two strokes.
The person who played the ball is penalised.
Part of Rule 17-1 states;
making a stroke from anywhere on the course, the player may have the
flagstick attended, removed or held up to indicate the position of
Note: With regard to c)
above, if the person attending the flagstick failed to remove it for the
purpose of causing the player to incur a penalty, they are disqualified
in both match play and stroke play for a serious breach of Rule 1-2. In
stroke play, in equity (Rule 1-4), the player must replay the stroke
In the photo above a
person is standing close to the flagstick but not touching it. Is there
a penalty if the ball is played from off the putting green and it hits
Note 1 to Rule 17-1 states;
If the flagstick is in
the hole and anyone stands near it while a stroke is being made, he
is deemed to be attending the flagstick.
Note: This is a Rule many golfers would not be aware of. Before playing
to the hole the player should ensure that, if they want the flagstick
attended, the person attending it is paying attention, and if not, that
there is no-one standing close to it.
'Rhodes Rules School'
Q&A will follow next week,
The above content is
strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes ©2011/12 and may not
be copied without permission.