No.37 Standing Astride the Line of Putt
 

 
 
Question 1:
In the photo above the player has addressed her ball and is about to putt.
a) If she putts her ball from this stance does she incur a penalty?
b) If another player thinks that she is about to breach a Rule may they stop her before she makes her stroke?

Answer 1:
a) Yes, for a breach of 16-1e (see below). The penalty is two strokes in stroke play or loss of hole in match play.
b) Yes, giving information on the Rules is not advice. I encourage all golfers to assist their fellow competitors from breaching the Rules.

Part of Rule 16-1e states;
 
The player must not make a stroke on the putting green from a stance astride, or with either foot touching, the line of putt or an extension of that line behind the ball.
 
__________
 
 
Question 2:
The player left her putt short and takes an awkward stance to avoid stepping on her fellow competitors' lines of putt. Does she incur a penalty if she putts in these circumstances?

Answer 2:
No (see the Exception to the Rule below).


Exception to Rule 16-1e above states;
 
Exception: There is no penalty if the stance is inadvertently taken on or astride the line of putt (or an extension of that line behind the ball) or is taken to avoid standing on another player's line of putt or prospective line of putt.
 
 
Another 'Rhodes Rules School' Q&A will follow next week,
 
Good golfing,
 
The above content is strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes 2011/12 and may not be copied without permission.