The diagram shows (in red) the line of flight of a
player's ball from the teeing ground, which completely
crossed over the water hazard but bounced back across
the margin (at point B) and came to rest in deep water
(at point X).
a) Is the
hazard shown in the diagram a water hazard or a lateral
b) May the
player play their third stroke from the teeing ground
even though they know their original ball is in the
c) May the
player, under penalty of one stroke, drop a ball within
two club-lengths of point B, not nearer the hole?
d) May the
player, under penalty of one stroke, drop a ball
anywhere on the line of flight from the teeing ground to
May the player, under penalty of one stroke, drop a ball
between point C and point Z, or even further back along
that same line?
a) A water
hazard, because it is designated by yellow stakes.
option a) in Rule 26-1 permits a player whose ball lies
within the margin of a water hazard to play another ball
from where their original ball was last played, under
penalty of one stroke.
dropping a ball within two club-lengths, not nearer the
hole, is only an option for taking relief from a lateral
water hazard (red stakes and/or lines).
d) No, the
line of flight is not relevant to where the player may
drop their ball in taking relief from a water hazard.
Yes, option b) in Rule 26-1 permits a player to drop a
ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which
the original ball last crossed the margin of the water
hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which
the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the
water hazard the ball may be dropped.
Note: If you are at all unsure about taking relief from
water hazards or lateral water hazards I recommend that
you look at my two short YouTube videos on these
Video on taking relief from a water hazard
Video on taking relief from a lateral water hazard
'Rhodes Rules School'
Q&A will follow next week,