Dropped Ball Hits Object
A player drops their
ball and it touches their glove, which they are using to mark the
outside limit of where they are permitted to drop;
a) May the player play
the ball if it touches the glove before striking the course?
May the player play
the ball if it
rolls into the glove after striking the course?
c) Does the player
incur a penalty of one stroke because the ball was deflected by
d) Must the ball be
e) If the ball
touches the glove again when it is re-dropped may the player place
the ball where it first struck the course?
c) No penalty is
Note: Part of Rule 20-2a states;
ball when dropped touches any person or the equipment of any
player before or after it strikes a part of the course and
before it comes to rest, the ball must be re-dropped, without
penalty. There is no limit to the number of times a ball
must be re-dropped in these circumstances.
Decision 20-2a/7 confirms;
is not a "small object" within the meaning of that term in the
Definition of "Equipment." Therefore, it is equipment and the
ball must be re-dropped.
A player drops their ball and it touches a tee peg, which they
are using to mark the outside limit of where they are permitted
a) Is the ball in
play if it touches the tee peg before striking the course?
b) Is the
ball in play if it rolls into the tee peg after striking the
Note: A tee peg is not part of a player's equipment and
therefore a dropped ball is in play even if it touches a tee peg
that is being used as a marker before it comes to rest.
Definition of Equipment;
Anything used, worn or carried by the player or anything
carried for the player by his partner or either of their
caddies, except any ball he has played at
the hole being played and any small object, such as
a coin or a tee, when used to mark the position of a ball or
the extent of an area in which a ball is to be dropped.
Rules School' Q&A
will follow next week,
The above content
is strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes ©2011/12
and may not be copied without permission.