player places their putter head in front of the ball as part
of their putting routine;
a) Do they incur a penalty if they do not press anything
down while doing so?
b) Do they incur a penalty if they do press down on the
putting surface while doing so?
to Rule 16-1a permits a player to place their club in front
of the ball when addressing it, providing they do not press
On a calm day
with no wind, a player's ball moves after they have placed
their putter head down in front of it as part of their
putting routine. Do they incur a penalty even if their club
did not touch the ball?
Yes, the player incurs a one stroke
penalty under Rule 18-2b.
Definition of Addressing the Ball;
A player has "addressed the ball" when he has grounded
his club immediately in front of or immediately behind
the ball, whether or not he has taken his stance.
Exception to Rule 18-2b does not apply;
Exception: If it is known or
virtually certain that the player did not cause his
ball to move, Rule 18-2b does not apply.
If a player
forgets to lift their ball marker when they replace their
ball and then putt, do they incur a penalty?
Note: Under Rule 20-4, a ball is in
play when it is replaced, whether or not the object used to
mark its position has been removed. Providing a player is
not using their ball-marker to indicate their intended line
of putt there is no penalty for leaving it in place while
'Rhodes Rules School'
Q&A will follow next week,
above content is strictly copyright
to Barry Rhodes ©2011/12 and may not
be copied without permission.