No.61 Stance inside Water Hazard
 
 

 

Question 1:
A player's ball comes to rest just outside of the margin of a water hazard. May the player take part of their stance inside the hazard?

Question 2:
A player drops their ball under the Rules and it rolls very close to the margin of a water hazard, so that the player would have to take part of their stance inside the hazard to make their stroke. May they re-drop their ball in this circumstance?

Answer 1:
Yes.

Answer 2:
No, they must play the ball as it lies.


Note: There is nothing in the Rules of Golf that permits a player to take relief just because his stance is inside the margin of a water hazard. In this respect Rule 26-1, Relief for Ball in Water Hazard, is different from Rule 24-2b, Relief from Immovable Obstruction and Rule 25-1b, Relief from Abnormal Ground Conditions, in that there is no mention of interference.

 
__________
 
 

 
 
A player's ball comes to rest in shallow water inside the margin of a water hazard.

Question 3:

May the player take part of their stance in the water to play their ball and may they remove their shoes and socks to do so?

Question 4:
May the player improve their stance in the water by kicking away several stones, so that they do not have to stand on them in bare feet?


Answer 3:
Yes. There is nothing in the Rules that prevents players from taking their stance in water and they may remove their shoes and socks to do so.

Answer 4:
No. Stones are loose impediments, which may not be moved when they and the ball lie in or touch the same hazard, Rule 23-1. Penalty: two strokes in stroke play or loss of hole in match play.
 
 

 
 
Another 'Rhodes Rules School' Q&A will follow next week,
 
 
Good golfing,
 
 
The above content is strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes 2011/12 and may not be copied without permission.