the photo the player's ball lies outside the
If the ball is embedded
may the player take relief without penalty?
a) May the player take their stance in the
bunker to make their stroke?
b) May the player ground their club lightly in
the bunker before making their stroke?
No, because the grass bank is not cut to fairway
height. Decision 25-2/5.
Note: Even when there is a
Local Rule permitting relief for a ball embedded
through the green, there will probably be an
exception stating that a player may not take
relief under this Local Rule if the ball is
embedded in sand in an area that is not closely
mown; which might be relevant in the photo
above. This is the case in the specimen Local
Rule in Appendix l, Part B, 4a.
b) Yes. Decision 13-4/1.
'Rhodes Rules School'
Q&A will follow next week,