No.83 Taking Complete Relief
 
 
Question 1:
A player's ball lies in a flower bed (above left) from which relief without penalty is available under a Local Rule. The player drops his ball away from the shrubs but in making his stroke he brushes overhanging shoots with his club on his follow-through (above right). Does he incur a penalty?

Answer 1:

Yes, there is a penalty of two strokes in stroke play or loss of hole in match play. See the note below.

 
__________
 
 

 
Question 2:
In this photo the first scenario is that the player's ball had come to rest on the edge of the path at point X (behind the player's legs). He has correctly taken relief by dropping his ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, Point Y, and it has rolled nearer to the path. May the player now play the ball from where it lies?

Question 3:

The second scenario is that the player's ball had come to rest on the sprinkler head. He has correctly taken relief by dropping his ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief. May the player now play the ball from where it lies?


Answer 2:

No. The path still interferes with the player's natural stance. If he continues to make a stroke with any part of his stance still on the path he will incur a penalty of two strokes in stroke play or loss of hole in match play. See the note below.

Answer 3:
Yes. In this case the sprinkler head no longer interferes with the player's lie, stance or area of intended swing. He may now choose to play his ball as it lies, or take relief from the path, which interferes with his stance under Rule 24-2b.
 
Note: Rule 20-2c(v) requires that a dropped ball must be re-dropped if it rolls to and comes to rest in a position where there is interference by the condition from which relief was taken.
 
 

 
Another 'Rhodes Rules School' Q&A will follow next week,
 
 
Good golfing,
 
 
The above content is strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes 2010/11 and may not be copied without permission.