Question 95:
 
Adam fades a long drive into the far end of a fairway bunker. As he approaches the bunker he sees a rake lying on the sand some way away from his ball. He walks in to pick it up and drags it over the wet sand, smoothing the footsteps he has just made as he backs out. He then enters the bunker again close to his ball, throws down the rake in the sand and considers his next shot. Although his ball is at rest in a dry area of the bunker Adam realises that his natural stance will mean that he has to stand in an area of casual water. However, he decides to play the ball as it lies and carefully steps into the puddle, takes his stance and with a 5-iron clips his ball cleanly off the sand onto the putting green close to the hole. He rakes the bunker carefully and approaches the putting green, where his fellow competitors are already waiting. Thinking it is his turn to putt he crouches down to study the line. His concentration is broken by a shout from behind hi m, as a fellow competitor pitches up to the hole from the apron. Believing it likely that the fellow competitor's ball will hit his stationary ball, he quickly bends down, marks his ball and lifts it, just as the other ball rolls by. When it is his turn to putt he replaces his ball, lifts his marker and confidently strokes his ball into the hole. What is Adam's score for the hole?
(The answer is below)
__________
 
19th Hole Titbit - Do You Know?
That you may take relief if your ball comes to rest in a bird's nest, or is so close to it that you may damage it when you make your stroke. Decision 1-4/9.
 
__________
 
Answer 95:
1 - Long drive into the fairway bunker.
Note: From January 2012 a player is permitted to smooth sand in a bunker without penalty, providing it is done for the sole purpose of caring for the course and nothing is done to breach Rule 13-2 with respect to their next stroke (Exception 2 to Rule 13-4).
Note: There is no penalty for throwing the rake, a movable obstruction, into the bunker (Decision 13-4/21).
Note: A player does not have to take relief from an abnormal ground condition, such as casual water (Rule 25-1b).
2 - 5-iron stroke onto the putting green.
3 & 4 Two penalty strokes for lifting his ball while another ball is in motion.
Note: When another ball is in motion, a ball that might influence the movement of that ball in motion must not be lifted (Rule 16-1b).
5 - Putt into the hole.
Adam scores 5 for the hole.
 

 
Another 'Rhodes Rules School - How Many Strokes' will follow next week,