..... Bad Weather Conditions
 
Q1: In the photo, the player chose to play his ball from snow in the bunker, but he could have dropped his ball in the sand by taking relief from an abnormal ground condition. True or False?
 
 
A1: True. Snow is either casual water or a loose impediment at the option of the player. Definition of Loose Impediment.

Q2: A ball that is blown off the putting green by wind may be replaced without penalty. True or False?
 
 
A2: False. Wind is not an outside agency, so Rule 18-1 does not apply and the ball must be played as it lies. Definition of Outside Agency.

Q3: Which of the following statements is correct? a) There is no relief from casual water in bunkers, without penalty. b) A player may not take relief when part of their intended stance touches casual water in a bunker but their ball does not. c) A player may take relief, under penalty of one stroke, outside of a bunker, if their ball lies in casual water in the bunker.
 
 
A3: c) A player may take relief, under penalty of one stroke, outside of a bunker, if their ball lies in casual water in the bunker. Rule 25-1b(ii)(b).

Q4: After 16 holes A is 2-up in a match with B when they agreed to discontinue play due to heavy rain. 30 minutes later A wanted to resume play but B refused as it was still raining. What is the ruling? a) They were both disqualified for discontinuing play for bad weather. b) The match cannot resume until both players agree. c) B is disqualified for not resuming when A wanted to.
 
 
A4: c) B is disqualified for not resuming when A wanted to. Decision 6-8a/5. Note: Players discontinuing a match by agreement are not subject to disqualification, unless by so doing the competition is delayed.

Q5: Following heavy rain a player may take relief without penalty from soft, mushy earth. True or False?
 
 
A5: False? Decision 25/1.

Q6: In stroke play a player may never discontinue play for any kind of bad weather. True or False?
 
 
A6: False. In stroke play, players may discontinue play if they believe there is danger from lightning. Rule 6-8a.

Q7: During a round a player may use a smart phone to access a web site that shows temperature and wind strength in the area. True or False?
 
 
 
A7: True. Decision 14-3/18. Using a browser in this way is not actively measuring or gauging conditions at the course.

Q8: A player may use the back of a rake to clear a layer of hailstones on their line of putt to the hole. True or False?
 
 
A8: True. Hailstones (natural ice) are loose impediments and may be moved by any means, providing nothing on the line of putt is pressed down. Decision 23-1/1 and Definition of Loose Impediment.

Q9: Which of the following statements is correct? a) A player may use a device to warm their hands during a round. b) A player may use a device to warm their ball between holes c) A player may use a device to warm their hands during a round and warm their ball between holes.
 
 
A9: a) A player may use a device to warm their hands during a round. Decision 14-3/13.