..... Ball Assisting or Interfering with Play
 
Rule 22 unless otherwise noted.

Q1: Except when a ball is in motion, a player may lift their ball if they consider that it is interfering with the play of a fellow competitor. True or False?
 
 
A1: False. Only the player making the stroke may decide whether the ball is interfering with their play.

Q2: In the photo, A may have B's ball lifted by claiming it mentally interferes with his play. True or False?
 
 
A2: True. Decision 22-1.

Q3: When may a player mark and lift their ball if they think that it might assist another player? a) Only at the request of another player. b) At any time, providing both balls are at rest. c) Only if their own ball is at rest on the putting green. d) Only if both balls are at rest on the putting green.
 
 
A3: b) At any time, providing both balls are at rest.

Q4: In stroke play, a player may play their ball first rather than lift it at the request of another player. True or False?
 
 
A4: True.

Q5: The balls of A and B have come to rest within an inch of each other inside the boundary of a water hazard, but not in the water. They both elect to play their shots from the hazard, so B asks A, whose ball is nearest the hole, to lift his ball, which he does after marking it and carefully noting the lie. What is the ruling?  a) A and B are both disqualified for agreeing to waive a Rule. b) A is penalised one stroke for lifting his ball in play. c) A is penalised two strokes for lifting his ball from a water hazard. d) There is no penalty as both players have acted correctly at this point.
 
 
A5: d) There is no penalty as both players have acted correctly at this point.

Q6: If a fellow competitor requires that you lift your ball from the fairway, because it interferes with their intended stroke, you may clean it before replacing. True or False?
 
 
A6: False.

Q7: A asks B to lift his ball, which is lying close to his own ball in a bunker. When A splashes his ball out of the bunker he disturbs the sand in the surrounding area. Which is correct? a) B must replace his ball where it was and may not smooth any of the sand. b) B may smooth the area of sand where his ball lay, but not in his intended area of stance. c) B must re-create the original lie as nearly as possible.
 
 
 
A7: c) B must re-create the original lie as nearly as possible. Rule 20-3b(iii).

Q8: A player must mark their ball when another player requires them to lift it because it interferes with their play. True or False?
 
 
A8: True. Rule 20-1. The position of a ball must be marked before it is lifted under a Rule that requires it to be replaced.

Q9: In stroke play, A's ball is lying close to the hole and as he bends down to mark it, B, who is preparing to putt from just off the putting green, says, "Leave it there, it could help me". A replies "OK" and walks away. What is the ruling? a) Neither player incurs any penalty. b) A is penalised 2 strokes. c) B is penalised two strokes. d) Both players are disqualified.
 
 
A9: d) Both players are disqualified. Decision 22-6.