..... Trees
 
Q1: A player may always take relief if the branches of a staked tree interfere with the swing of their intended stroke. True or False?
 
 
A1: False. There has to be a Local Rule permitting relief without penalty from staked trees.

Q2: In the photo, a player may take relief when their ball comes to rest on the stump of a tree that has recently been cut down. True or False?
 
 
A2: False. The stump is natural object from which there is no relief.

Q3: A player hits their ball into a tree and it is not seen to fall to the ground. A ball is visible where the ball appeared to lodge in the tree, but it cannot be reached or positively identified by any markings that are visible. The player must continue with another ball under penalty of stroke and distance. True or False?
 
 
A3: True. If a ball is not found within 5 minutes of search beginning, and then identified, it is lost. Rule 27-1.
 
Q4: On a course where there is no Local Rule relating to staked trees, a ball comes to rest close to a stake supporting a young sapling. What is the ruling? a) The player must play the ball as it lies or take relief under penalty. b) The player may play the ball as it lies, but if after making their stroke the ball touches any part of the tree, they incur a penalty of two strokes. c) The player may take relief, without penalty, from the stake as it is an immovable obstruction. d) The player may take relief without penalty as the Rules permit taking relief from staked trees.
 
 
A4: Answer: c) The player may take relief, without penalty, from the stake as it is an immovable obstruction. Decision 13-2/16.

Q5: A player may move branches and leaves of a tree so that they may see their ball better whilst they play their stroke. True or False?
 
 
A5: False: Rule 12-1 and Rule 13-2.

Q6: In stroke play, if leaves are knocked down during a practice swing on the area of the intended swing there is always a penalty of two strokes. True or False?
 
 
A6: False. Decision 13-2/0.5. There is only a penalty if the area of the intended swing is improved so that it creates a potential advantage for the player in their play, which is relatively uncommon.

Q7: In the photo, the nearest point of relief could be at point A, in the centre of the tree. True or False?
 
 
 
A7: True. Decision 24-2b/3.5. To take relief the player must drop a ball within one estimated club-length of where they estimate the nearest point of relief in the tree to be.

Q8: In stroke play, if a player breaks a dead branch of a tree that interferes with their intended area of swing the penalty is two strokes. True or False?
 
 
A8: True. Rule 13-2.

Q9: Players may take relief if their intended backswing is impeded by the overhanging branches of any tree that is rooted inside an area marked as ground under repair. True or False?
 
 
A9: True. Decision 25-1a/1 and Definition of Ground Under Repair.