..... Definitions
 
Q1: If a ball comes to rest in the water, after crossing the margin to the left of the stakes marked by point X in the photo, the player may take relief from which type of hazard? a) A water hazard. b) A lateral water hazard.



A1: a) A water hazard. A water hazard is defined by yellow stakes and/or lines. Definition of Water Hazard.

Q2: When the margin of a water hazard is defined by a line on the ground, the line itself is in the lateral water hazard. True or False?


A2: True. When both stakes and lines are used to indicate a water hazard, the stakes identify the hazard and the lines define the hazard margin. The line itself is in the water hazard. Definition of Water Hazard.

Q3: Once a player has started the forward movement of their stroke, it will count as a stroke even if they intentionally swing over their ball because they have been distracted. True or False?


A3: False. If a player voluntarily checks his downswing before the clubhead reaches the ball he has not made a stroke. Definition of Stroke.

Q4: The term ‘through the green’ includes the teeing ground of the hole being played. True or False?


A4: False. ‘Through the green’ is the whole area of the course except the teeing ground and putting green of the hole being played and all hazards on the course. Definition of Through the Green.

Q5: What is the penalty if in stroke play you ground your club on a decorative island of grass in the centre of a large bunker? a) No penalty. b) One stroke penalty. c) Two strokes penalty.


A5: a) No penalty. Grass-covered ground within a bunker is not part of the bunker. Definition of Bunker.

Q6: A player may advise a fellow competitor that relief is available because his stance for a stroke is in casual water. True or False?


A6:  True. A player may give information on the Rules, but they may not make a suggestion that could influence a fellow competitor in determining their play. Definition of Advice.

Q7: As shown in the photo, which of the following conditions is not an abnormal ground condition? a) Wood chippings piled for removal. b) Water that has overflowed outside the margin of a water hazard. c) Ruts made by a course maintenance vehicle. d) A hole in a bunker made by a burrowing animal.



A7: c) Ruts made by a course maintenance vehicle. Definition of Ground Under Repair and Decision 25/16.

Q8: A water hazard that dries up and has no water in it is no longer a water hazard. True or False?


A8: False. Water hazards are defined by stakes and/or lines and do not have to contain water. Definition of Water Hazard.

Q9: In stroke play, which of the following is not an outside agency? a) An animal or bird. b) Wind. c) A spectator. d) A fellow competitor.


A9: b) Wind. Neither wind nor water is an outside agency. Definition of Outside Agency.