..... Myths Concerning the Rules
 
Apart from the correct answers below, each question the other answers are common myths about the Rules.
 
Q1: Which of the following statements is correct? a) You may not enter the clubhouse until you have returned your score card. b) You may not leave the course during a round. c) You must return your signed score card to the Committee as soon as possible after completion of your round.
 
 
A1: c) You must return your signed score card to the Committee as soon as possible after completion of your round. Rule 6-6b.
 
Q2: A player may use not use their long-handled putter (see photo) to measure club-lengths. True or False?
 
 
A2: False. There is nothing in the Rules to stop you using any club that you are carrying to measure club-lengths.
 
Q3: Which of the following statements is correct? a) You have to initial any corrections to the scores for holes on your score card. b) You must enter your full 18-hole handicap on your score card for a 9 holes stroke play competition. c) You must enter the Stableford points scored on each hole for any Stableford competition.
 
 
A3: b) You must enter your full 18-hole handicap on your score card for a 9 holes stroke play competition. Rule 6-2b.
 
Q4: A player has to face the direction of the hole when dropping a ball under the Rules. True or False?
 
 
A4: False. Rule 20-2a does not specify that the player has to face a particular direction when making their drop.
 
Q5: In Stableford competitions you may not play out a hole once you cannot score any points on that hole. True or False?
 
 
A5: False. Strokes made in continuing the play of a hole, the result of which has been decided, are not practice strokes. Rule 7-2.
 
Q6: You may not make a stroke while holding a putter on its shaft; you must have your hands on the grip. True or False?
 
 
 
A6: False. Rule 14-1 only requires that the ball must be fairly struck at with the head of the club and must not be pushed, scraped or spooned. You may grip the club shaft anywhere.

Q7: Which of the following statements is correct? a) You may not change the colour of your ball during a round. b) You may borrow a ball from a fellow competitor even if you have more balls in your bag. c)  You may borrow a putter from a fellow competitor providing you only started your round with 13 clubs.
 
 
A7: b) You may borrow a ball from a fellow competitor even if you have more balls in your bag.

Q8: You may never clean your ball on a putting green by rubbing it on the surface, as in the photo. True or False?
 
 
A8: False. Decision 16-1d/5 states that, whilst not recommended, this practice is permissible, providing the act is not for the purpose of testing the surface of the putting green.

Q9: Which of the following statements is correct?  a) Competitors in a stroke play competition are not permitted to wager on the result. b) Players may not play in stroke play and match play competitions at the same time. c) In stroke play competitions, you may choose to ignore a breach of Rules by a fellow competitor.
 
 
A9: b) Players may not play in stroke play and match play competitions at the same time. Rule 33-1.